And I thought to myself:: Agnosticism & Human Rights

To Be or Not to Be

I am not opposed to Agnosticism in the same way that I am opposed to Atheism. Atheists are just as adamant about the nonexistence of God as theists are about the existence of God. Skeptics and empiricists should be just as wary of atheists as they are of theists. Both have their philosophical proofs, their rational arguments, and their experiences —and both claim to speak the undeniable truth.

Basic logic states that two truths cannot contradict each other. Although, atheists and theists both believe their position on the existence of God to be absolute truth, it follows logically that one position must be true and one position must be false. For God cannot both “be” and “not be;” nor can he “be” to some, but “not be” to others.  Belief is God is not really a matter of opinion, because a fact is not an opinion. Disagree with an opinion and you’re a free-thinker; disagree with fact and you’re a loony.

Agnostics realize that God either is or is not; they simply don’t believe it is possible to know for sure which is fact and which is fiction. To me, agnostics are more in touch with reality than atheists. Rather than jumping to conclusions or siding with popular opinion, agnostics take a step away from it all. Taking into account arguments from both sides of the story, they find compelling evidence supporting theism as well as atheism…

Read the rest (via marylikesbagels)

Agnosticism has its positives, and it should be temporary. I agree. I believe too many people dismiss agnosticism as useless or absolutely sinful. I can’t blame people for it, and I hope to give people space to measure what they believe. In fact, in recent inter-religious gatherings, Pope Benedict actually invited agnostics to participate, for they too share in a quest for truth.

Yet, I have also experienced people who prefer a lazy agnosticism, that is more about moral irresponsibility or cognitive incompetance then actual truth seeking. Yet, I give, because I know plenty of amazing Catholic that were once temporary agnostics. Mary makes the good case here in terms of Human Rights…

And I thought to myself:: Agnosticism & Human Rights

Leave a Reply

