Innocent and Pretty versus “hot” and “sexy”

Pat Archbold at the National Catholic Register suggests the “Death
of Pretty
” in his latest article.

By nature, generally when men see this combination in women
it brings out their better qualities, their best in fact. That special
combination of beauty and innocence, the pretty inspires men to protect and
defend it.

Young women today do not seem to aspire to pretty, they
prefer to be regarded as hot. Hotness is something altogether different.
When women want to be hot instead of pretty, they must view themselves in a
certain way and consequently men view them differently as well.

As I
said, pretty inspires men’s nobler instincts to protect and defend. Pretty
is cherished. Hotness, on the other hand, is a commodity. Its value is
temporary and must be used. It is a consumable.

As a man vowed to celibate chastity, it is difficult for me to be around
a woman who I cannot trust to respect my own integrity. Girls who are
trying to be “hot” or “sexy” are not doing that. Even though I am not
looking for dates, romance, or relationships, I admit, I am still enriched
and inspired by women who are actually striving to be innocent and pretty.
Not only does it lessen my own frustration and tension of having to deal
with desperate women, but most of all, it actually makes my life and the
life of all the men around me a whole lot better.

As a man, simply as
a man, without particularly judging specific women, I hope you can
understand where I am coming from. I always long for innocence, and I long
for innocent relationships. I know plenty of other people who do. It is
like we were raised to be mutually and equally master manipulators, and we
have lost our human sensitivity. A lot of the pain and heartbreak myself
and peers have been through over the years has typically been the result of
our generation manipulating one another for sex. I hope you can just think
about it.

Innocent and Pretty versus “hot” and “sexy”

Leave a Reply

