The most likely culprit of teenage depression is that changes in our cultural values are making them more anxious, depressed, isolated, and stressed-out.

In Health news, Teens are more depressed, anxious, and paranoid then
ever
. If I were to describe my life as a teenager, I would say I was
depressed, anxious, and paranoid. I do not know the degree by which it can
be measured, or if it was strong enough to merit medication.

Many of the assumptions behind this, is that the economy is effecting
young people in a negative way. Perhaps it is, perhaps there is more stress
and tension around the house. I think that I was 17 before I paid attention
to the news. I have no reason to believe that the average teenager is
concerned about news on a global or national scale. I was too overwhelmed
by the difficult things happening in and around me. Many teenagers are
oblivious to the magnitude of the financial crisis over the past year,
because they are attuned to be reared in a little endless entertainment
bubble. I do not think that this was an exception for me, even if we could
not afford as many state of the art entertainment products as many of my
neighbors and friends. Some quotes from the article deserve a look.

“We have become a culture that focuses more on material
things and less on relationships,” said lead researcher Jean Twenge, author
of “Generation Me” and an associate professor of psychology at San Diego
State University. Twenge said this focus is affecting mental health on a
societal level…

The researchers cannot say for sure which societal changes are behind
this change, but looking at students’ responses concerning things like the
importance of money or the value of family and personal relationships,
researchers say an increasingly materialistic culture is likely at
fault…

And we “might need to re-think preventing and treating depression,”
Burmeister said… If increased materialism and decreased community are
really to blame

The most likely culprit of teenage depression is that changes in our cultural values are making them more anxious, depressed, isolated, and stressed-out.

Leave a Reply

